Hope·Less

18 Aug
Blossoming Lotus by Michelle Sun

Blossoming Lotus by Michelle Sun

Hope·Less

when I was a child,

hope was an ever-blooming flower

in the palm of my hand.

Both fragrant and aromatic

with color gradients every growing too.

As I began to age walking o’er the cold

black pavement ‘life’

it grew deeper in hue

black for sadness

blue for unwillingness

purple for knowledge

granted by the sands-

of time we are of essences

this is why we live.

Willing, waiting, wanting

waiving like flags high up on our towering poles we blow freely…

are we proud? Am we now?

I denounce that dreadful omen hope-

and the day we ever did meet

am we proud?

Ne’er are we.

©copyright Kyanna Kitt

2 Responses to “Hope·Less”

  1. Julia August 18, 2013 at 11:14 PM #

    Thanks for linking to my post! Reading your poem, for some reason I was reminded of a favorite song, “Diamond in the Rough” by Jennifer Knapp (lyrics at http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/j/jennifer_knapp/diamond_in_the_rough.html). I look forward to exploring your blog.

    • KyannaKitt August 18, 2013 at 11:20 PM #

      Julia,

      Thank you so much for your kind response, I truly appreciate it. I get so happy when someone can relate to my work. Thank you for referring the song to me, I will check it out as soon as possible. Come back soon.

      XOXO
      Kyanna

What are your thoughts?

