Prompt 8: Cliché

20 Aug

Prompt 8: Cliché

The apple never falls far from the tree,” says the poor woman of her child.

Even in her youth

filling her mind with

the same rubbish most hear

others speak upon their worst enemy.

Even taking her journals

and them away

Taking the books she read

as if the meant nothing

and banning them from her-

It isn’t worth it- you’ll be just like me,”

she said fold a hot basket of clothes-

What children aren’t told is they

don’t have to be like anyone.

Not even mommy and daddy.

Read your books-

Write your journals,

One day you’ll be a great

writer and will have all the things that were

decided for me not to have,”

she should say.

I remember a book we made

back in grade school on the old colored puzzle carpet-

The one I had vomited on so many times before.

Anyways, I digress. I remember the letters and reading the stories I read-

I’ve had but one still dream and it remains.

Despite what they say,

I am my mothers child.

But I am not my mother.

©copyright Kyanna Kitt

5 Responses to “Prompt 8: Cliché”

  1. mindlovemisery August 25, 2013 at 1:10 PM #

    I am glad I visited and noticed this! This exceptional I think we all struggle with identity, with the fear of turning into our parents at some point in our lives. For me given my parents at the time of my childhood it was truly horrifying. I love the quote you used! The new prompt is up btw =)

    • KyannaKitt August 26, 2013 at 11:48 AM #

      I will get on that as soon as possible. I still haven’t posted all the other prompts I’ve done from your page. Hahaha. I will be caught up this week I’m sure.

      • mindlovemisery August 26, 2013 at 11:56 AM #

        If there is any I haven’t read please send me a link I don’t want to miss a thing =)

      • KyannaKitt August 26, 2013 at 12:03 PM #

        I will as soon as possible. 😛 I haven’t been blogging lately so I need to get back up to speed. I really appreciate you. The feedback is very important to me because I plan on being an author…This is the only skill I have. I depend on it. Thank you very much.

      • mindlovemisery August 26, 2013 at 12:05 PM #

        Awww thank you =) I have the same goal in mind never give up I am rooting for you!

What are your thoughts?

