One Last Mistake.

27 Aug

Brianne Writes

By Brianne Barkley

story, creative writing, brianne, writes, buried, entombed, dead, RIP, peace, flash fiction

__________________

I woke to darkness so thick I wondered if I had gone blind. My breath seemed to echo back at me in hot waves. My body felt heavy, tired, used up.

It was immediately clear that I was not in the same bed I had fallen asleep in. The soft dent in my feather pillow, perfectly rounded to my head, was replaced with a pillow that felt new and hard, thin and flimsy. The sheets I felt under my fingertips were not the soft cotton I was used to but were silky and slippery.

After several hauntingly silent minutes, I reached a hand up and felt it hit against a hard surface above me. Terror raced through me but my body seemed unable to keep up. I wanted to pound my fists against the rigid ceiling but could only meekly rap against it with tired fingers.

View original post 68 more words

2 Responses to “One Last Mistake.”

  1. bridawn August 27, 2013 at 11:10 AM #

    Thanks for the re-blog! I’m glad you liked the story.

What are your thoughts?

